Facebook Instagram Twitter RSS Feed Back to top


Titulný obrázok

The Slovak Academy of Sciences Awards of 2019

23. 6. 2020 | 2177 visits

Every year, the Slovak Academy of Sciences awards top scientists from the largest research institution in Slovakia. The SAS Awards are the highest form of rewarding the creative activity of scientists. This year´s Awards took place on June 23 at the SAS Smolenice Congress Center.

The SAS awards were handed over by the chairman of the SAS Prof. Mgr. Pavol Šajgalík, DrSc. in the presence of the chairwoman of the SAS Assembly PhDr. Zuzana Kusá, CSc., Vice-Presidents of the SAS of individual departments of sciences RNDr. Pavol Siman, PhD., Prof. RNDr. Karola Marholda, CSc., RNDr. Miroslav Morovics, CSc., and the Vice-Chairman of the SAS for science, research and innovation Prof. RNDr. Peter Samuely, DrSc.

Richard Vašečka, Chairman of the Committee of the National Council of the Slovak Republic for Education, Science, Youth and Sport, Štefan Rozkopál, Head of the Office of the President of the Slovak Republic, Ľudovít Paulis, State Secretary of the Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport of the Slovak Republic, representatives of universities and members of the Scientific Council of SAS accepted the invitation to the ceremony. 

The SAS Prize for the results of scientific research work for 2019 was awarded to RNDr. Marián Jurčišin, Phd., and RNDr.  Eva Jurčišinová, PhD., from the Department of Theoretical Physics of the Institute of Experimental Physics SAS for a set of results achieved in the study of thermodynamic properties of frustrated magnetic systems.

The SAS Prize for the results of scientific research work for young workers was awarded to RNDr. Michal Rajňák, PhD., from the Department of Magnetism of the Institute of Experimental Physics SAS for significant results in the field of Magnetic fluids for electrical applications.  

The SAS Award for a scientific monograph was received by PhDr.  Elena Mannová, CSc., from the Institute of History SAS for the monograph Past as a Supermarket? Ways of representation and updating of the history of Slovakia. The SAS Prize for the scientific monograph Slovak Romanticism: a synoptic-pulsating model of a cultural phenomenon was also received by Prof. PhDr. Peter Zajac, DrSc., and Mgr. Ľubica Schmarcová, PhD., from the Institute of Slovak Literature, and the composite authors.

The SAS Prize for the results of international scientific and technical cooperation was awarded to a team from the Institute of Chemistry under the leadership of Ing. Jaroslav Katrlík, PhD., including Mgr. Peter Baráth, PhD., Ing. Marek Nemčovič, PhD., Mgr. Martina Križáková, PhD., Ing. Zuzana Pakanová, PhD., Ing. Lucia Pažitná, Ing. Kristína Kianičková a MSc. Paras Kundalia for scientific research work Analysis of glycoforms of proteins as potential biomarkers for medicine and diagnostics of biomarkers.

The SAS Award for the Popularization of Science and Social Applications of Science belongs to:

RNDr. Šimon Mackovjak, PhD., from the Institute of Experimental Physics SAS for SPACE:: LAB - a place for the interest, education and involvement of the young generation in space research and engineering.

Mgr. Barbara Lášticová, PhD., from the Institute for Research in Social Communication SAS for the popularization of science, especially within the frame of a solution of the project APVV 14-0531 Intervention to alleviate prejudices against stigmatized minorities - INTERMIN (2015 - 2019).

MUDr. Adela Penesová, PhD,. from the Biomedical Research Center SAS for popularizing the research into the prevention of diseases in the result of obesity.

Ing. Alexandra Kovalčíková, PhD., Ing. Erika Múdra, PhD., and Mgr.  Ivan Shepa from the Institute of Materials Research for the entertaining-educational series Entertaining Elements of Civics and Natural Science intended for pupils in the 2nd to 4th grade of elementary school.

doc. PaeDr. Vladimíra Kurincová Čavojová, PhD., from the Centre of Social and Psychological Sciences SAS, civic association, the Institute of Experimental Psychology for the activity Why People Believe in Nonsense.

In the category of Top-level publications were awarded:

Ing. Jaroslav Kováčik, PhD.  (Institute of Materials and Machine Mechanics SAS), Dr. Rer. Nat. Peter Šiffalovič, PhD. (Institute of Physics SAS), RNDr. Jozef Kačmarčík, PhD. (Institute of Experimental Physics SAS), Prof. RNDr. Karol marhold, CSc. (Plant Science and Biodiversity Center SAS), RNDr. Dana Jurkovičová, PhD. (Biomedical Research Center SAS).

In the category Publications with an extremely high number of citations:

RNDr. Milan Valachovič, DrSc. (Plant Science and Biodiversity Center SAS), Mgr. Juraj Lieskovský, PhD. (Institute of Landscape Ecology SAS), Mgr. Pavol Kenderessy, PhD. (Institute of Landscape Ecology SAS), Mgr. Monika Janišová, PhD. (Plant Science and Biodiversity Center SAS), Dr. h. c. Prof. PhDr. Václav Furmánek, DrSc.  (Institute of Archaeology SAS), Prof. PhDr. Jozef Bátora, DrSc. (Institute of Archaeology SAS), PhDr. Ondrej Ožďáni, CSc. (Institute of Archaeology SAS), PhDr. Vladimír Mitáš, PhD. (Institute of Archaeology SAS), Dr. Rudolf Kujovský, CSc. (Institute of Archaeology SAS), Prof. PhDr. Jozef Vladár, DrSc. (Institute of Archaeology SAS), Prof. PhDr. Juraj Dolník, DrSc. (Ľ. Štúr Institute of Linguistics SAS), Ing. Vladimír Benko, PhD. (Ľ. Štúr Institute of Linguistics SAS)

In the category Top-level scientific monographs:

Ing. Viliam Novák, DrSc. (Institute of Hydrology SAS), Mgr. Ing. Miloslav Bahna, PhD. (Institute for Sociology SAS), Mgr. Martina Sekulová, PhD. (Institute of Ethnology and Social Anthropology SAS), Dr. habil. phil. et theol.  Jon Stewart, PhD. (Institute of Philosophy SAS), Michal Kišňan, PhD. (Institute of History SAS), PhDr. Michal Schvarc, PhD. (Institute of History SAS), PhDr. Martina Fiamová, PhD. (Institute of History SAS), PhDr. Slavomír Michálek, DrSc. (Institute of History SAS), PhDr. Michal Štefanský, CSc. (Institute of History SAS)


Photo: Katarína Gáliková