Facebook Instagram Twitter RSS Feed PodBean Back to top on side

International Cooperation


8. 11. 2007 | 3570 visits
TWAS, The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World is pleased to inform of accepting nominations for the Trieste Science Prize 2008.

As you already know, the *Trieste Science Prize*, sponsored by Illycaffè and administered by TWAS, has been established to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made by scientists from the developing countries.

Each year it is given in two different fields. *For 2008 *the fields
are: *Earth, Space, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences and Engineering Sciences. *

Each prize carries a US$50,000 monetary award.

2008 will mark the fourth year of the Prize. We would like to build on our initial success in gaining worldwide recognition for the recipients and in publicizing the outstanding scientific achievements now taking place in the developing world.

In this connection, I am happy to invite you to nominate qualified candidates to be considered for this prize. To this purpose I enclose herewith the 2008 nomination form, together with additional information about this scheme.

Kindly note that the deadline to receive nominations has been brought forward to *31 January 2008*.

Counting on your collaboration, I send you my best regards,

Mohamed H.A. Hassan
Executive Director, TWAS

Ph.: +39 040 2240387
Fax: +39 040 2240689
TWAS, The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World c/o The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics Strada Costiera 11, 34014 Trieste, Italy